Friday, November 12, 2010

2010 awards not kind to Phillies

The Phillies aren't making much of a splash in the awards department. Shane Victorino captured his third consecutive Gold Glove award, the only Phillie to take down the hardware. Former Phil Scott Rolen beat out current third baseman Placido Polanco for yet another Gold Glove in his trophy case.

Shockingly, the Phillies don't have a single Silver Slugger award winner this season. There are four first time winners: Dan Uggla, Troy Tulowitzki, Carlos Gonzales and Yovani Gallardo.

Usually a category the Phillies thrive in, their inconsistent offense throughout the regular season which continued into the postseason led to the Phillies coming up blank for the award this year.

Roy Halladay is still the favorite to land the Cy Young award, and Charlie Manuel will contend for Manager of the Year.